Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Three CGCC students receive All-Arizona Academic Team scholarships

All-Arizona Academic Team scholarship recipients (from left)
Avonlea Hope, Samantha Janko and Wilson Craghead with
CGCC President Linda Lujan.

Three Chandler-Gilbert Community College students were honored along with 22 other Maricopa Community College District students at the 18th Annual All-Arizona Academic Team Recognition Ceremony on February 20.

The ceremony celebrates the outstanding academic achievements and distinguished leadership of students enrolled in Arizona community colleges. Five organizations — Phi Theta Kappa, American Association of Community Colleges, Arizona Board of Regents and USA Today — then help these students reach their educational goals by awarding scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $500 and issuing tuition waivers to any of Arizona’s three universities.

CGCC students Wilson Craghead, Avonlea Hope, and Samantha Janko all received $750 scholarships and plan to transfer to Arizona State University to study biochemistry, bioresearch technology and biomedical engineering respectively.

Students selected to the Academic Team in their state are also eligible to be chosen as a national scholar, which includes a spring feature in USA Today and eligibility for additional scholarships. Learn more information about the awards.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.