Thursday, May 19, 2016

Congratulations to the CGCC Class of 2016

Three hundred of the 1,300 students who graduated from Chandler-Gilbert Community College this spring participated in the 25th annual commencement ceremony at Sloan Park in Mesa on Friday, May 13. Each student was recognized for their accomplishment as they made the traditional walk across the stage to receive their diploma and a congratulatory handshake from CGCC administrative staff.   

The ceremony featured live musical entertainment by student jazz vocalists and   remarks from featured student speaker Zoya Oyzerovich. Among the total graduating class were 93 veterans, 625 students with a GPA of 3.25 or higher and 150 members of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society.

"We are extremely proud of the Class of 2016 and wish them the very best in their future endeavors," said William Guerriero, CGCC Interim President. "We hope our graduates look back on the time they spent at CGCC as a great educational foundation on which to build. We know they will do great things!"

 The week prior to graduation, 44 students were recognized for their academic accomplishments at the 12th annual Evening of Excellence awards ceremony held inside Agave Hall. CGCC awarded over $11,000 in scholarships from the Arnette Scott Ward and the Champagne and Chocolate foundations.

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Chandler-Gilbert Community College Recognizes Annual Teal & Silver Recipients

Congratulations to the 2016  Teal & Silver Award recipients. Chandler-Gilbert Community College recognized 10 winners during a breakfast event at the Pecos Campus for their efforts and support of CGCC students, employees, programs, services and the college community on May 10, 2016.

The 2016 Teal & Silver Award recipients are:
  • Donna Carrier, Highland High School
  • Gilbert Public Schools Special Education Teachers: Barb Acherman, Madeline Dana, Mary Fisk, Dawn Harvey, Jennifer Kjar, Olga Lange, Kathryne O’Hara, Diane Smith, Eileen Sotak,
  • Heather Patterson, Cindy Pino, Perry High School
  • Herb Zinn, Former member of Arizona Wing of the Commemorative Air Force
  • Miguel Arciniega, Ph.D, Professor Emeritus, Arizona State University
  • Patrick DeLeon, Boys and Girls Club Chandler Compadre Branch
  • Rose Hartley, Goodmans Interior Structures
  • San Tan Historical Society Governing Board
  • Taylor Pineda, Si Se Puede Foundation
  • Tel Tech Networks

The Chandler-Gilbert Community College Teal & Silver Awards Program was created by former president, Dr. Maria Hesse, to recognize the contributions of individuals who support Chandler-Gilbert Community College through various efforts. This year's recipients positively impact the college by assisting with the program or service improvements, supporting creative and innovative ideas, improving the quality of the college experience, support the delivery of instruction, providing resources or assisting with cost-saving measures and advocating for the college in media, with elected officials and the in the community.